‘I Know What You Did Last Summer’ is Either Awful or Incredible

And I can’t tell which, but either way, I dug it.

Sam Lenz
5 min readNov 17, 2021
Copyright: Amazon

Teen slashers are kind of having a moment right now. Christopher Landon’s Happy Death Day films as well as Freaky have reinvigorated the subgenre, with help at the box office from Michael Myers. Psychopaths killing young men and women with bladed weapons are in again as the nostalgia of the 80s begins to give way to the 90s. And now that there are (seemingly) very few ’80s properties to reboot, we’re digging up franchises from the next decade to restore. That’s where Amazon’s new horror-mystery series I Know What You Did Last Summer comes into play.

I Know What You Did Last Summer follows a group of teens one year after they cover up a fatal hit and run. They then find themselves in the sights of a killer who claims to know their secret. If you’ve seen the films, this may sound familiar. However, how this plays out is entirely unexpected. To say more would go into spoilers, but suffice to say this series is unabashedly its own thing.

I’ll get this out of the way: I don’t particularly care for the films that preceded this series. I find them to be awfully bland and full of unlikable characters. This new series, developed by showrunner Sara Goodman, takes care of one of those problems, which makes the other…

--

--

Sam Lenz

A film critic with a taste for genre fare, living in Sioux Falls, SD. If you love movies, we’ll get along just fine.